top of page

How to DIY a Light Up Wedding Love Sign - Big Marquee Letters


Giant Love Sign DIY Wedding Tutorial

Alright beautiful brides, want to know my favorite item from my wedding that I ended up DIYing?! This gorgeous GIANT LOVE MARQUEE SIGN!! And the best part? You can get the materials from the dollar tree! After I originally looked into creating a wooden love sign, I realized that I didn't have the tools to make it, nor did I have a truck to transport large enough wood. So instead, I found this super easy solution using STYROFOAM BOARD! You can't even tell!!!


Here is the step-by-step YouTube tutorial I watched and only had to change a few things to match my own style.


ALL YOU WILL NEED IS:

- 5-6 styrofoam boards (I bought an extra one just in case I messed up while cutting them)

-Super glue

- Push lights & batteries (or globe lights, which is what I opted to use).

- Exacto Knife


Here's the tutorial I used:


So if you watched this, Tyra suggests making the "O" round, but in order to do this you will have to use cardboard and it's a different look than the rest of the styrofoam board letters. So as you can see from mine below, I ended up cutting the "O" with straight edges instead so I could keep all of them the same. And to be honest, I actually prefer this look!


As for the globe lights, I used them instead because I already had them around the house and didn't want to spend any extra money. I also think the smaller globe lights had a better look. Here's a closer shot when I was making them at home:


And featured below are the exact globe lights I had originally purchased - buying two sets would be required for this size LOVE sign (click to see current price on Amazon):

Also, if you go this route you have to make sure you have a long enough extension cord for wherever you will be setting them up at. This method is also more time consuming than just purchasing the push lights, because you also have to screw all the light bulbs off the lights, and then screw them back into place... and if you do this before setting it up at the venue, transporting these letters becomes tricky, since they are all connected on the attached light cord.


But either way, this is a super easy way to get a perfect GIANT LOVE MARQUEE sign for your wedding, engagement shoot, bridal party or whatever other beautiful celebration you have! ENJOY! :)


Last thing!

I've got a free bridal gift for you that will save you a lot of stress!! Click below for your wedding day timeline template!



bottom of page